Back to All Events

Bristol Metropolitan Orchestra with Pavel Timofeyevsky play Ravel

  • Bristol St George's Great George St Bristol, BS1 5RR United Kingdom (map)

Pavel Timofejevsky, a multi-talented pianist, composer, conductor and lecturer, joins the orchestra to perform Ravel’s stunning piano concerto. Works by three very different composers comprise this summer concert, each one epitomising the French music of its day.

We hear Ravel’s lyrical mastery of harmony and counterpoint, Bizet’s gift of melody and orchestration and Berlioz’s unusually orchestrated symphony in five movements with its idée fixe. This last work tells the story of a young musician poisoned by opium who imagines himself and his beloved at a ball, wandering through the countryside only to confront a nightmare scenario where he has killed her and must go to the gallows.

Pre-concert talk 6:30-7pm: There will be a talk about the works being performed given by Jonathan James in the Auditorium. Entry free to ticket-holders.

L'Arlesienne Suite No 1

Georges Bizet (1838-1875)

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in G

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)


Symphonie fantastique

Hector Berlioz (1803-1869)

Bristol Metropolitan Orchestra

William Goodchild, Conductor

Pavel Timofeyevsky, piano